Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    casual poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Spot on BasicQ, I recently bought the car and clearly the previous owner either had no idea or was full of sh!!t. Good old Google confirmed that its a T700R4 transmission which is good to know but doesnt fix my issue of the cable.

    Planning on taking it to a transmission shop next week and let the experts work it out as I am totally confused with this one.... drives and shifts like sh!!t so need to get it sorted.

    Kind of glad to know its a T700 as probably a bit stronger than a stock trimatic.

  2. #17
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sometimes Melbourne
    Posts
    2,746

    Default

    If the cable only pulls about 10 mm or so then it is a 350.
    The brackets are readily available, very simple one to set up.

    That metal piece that is part of the cable head is the adjustment button.

    Trimatic from series 2 onward is electric kickdown.
    Turbo 350 and 700 both have a large dome about 80 mm in diameter on the rear LHS of the trans that houses the governor.

    If you need a longer cable they are about $50 and go up from there if you want a blingy one.

    If it's a 700 and you have been driving it with cable disconnected prepare for some bad news (I'll bet someone removed the TV Check ball)

    If the TV checkball was still in there and the cable disconnected the shifts would be very high and savage, it's a safety feature so you dont kill your trans if the cable ever breaks.
    People take them out because they cant get the linkage geometry right. The geometry is critical
    Last edited by HQ 368; 13-10-2021 at 10:36 PM.

  3. #18
    casual poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    243

    Default

    thanks HQ368. The cable has only been disconnected from the T700 when I changed the manifold and the car has then been driven for approx 800m without the kickdown being connected (hopefully no damage). It looks like I will need to get a bracket to suit the holley carb, then remount the cable and adjust it accordingly. I had a look on Speedpro website and it looks like they have an adjustable kickdown bracket that will do the job.... Once I get this I am going to take it to an Auto specialist and get it set up properly.

    Would it be safe to drive it approx 1km to the auto shop?

    Confirming that the cable only travels around 2-3cm in total.

    Really appreciate everyone responding with great advice.

  4. #19
    casual poster STOKESY77's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Darwin
    Posts
    94

    Default

    ...
    Last edited by STOKESY77; 14-10-2021 at 12:23 PM.

  5. #20
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sometimes Melbourne
    Posts
    2,746

    Default

    Get the workshop to supply all parts, if you supply the bracket that ultimately causes the transmission to fail, it'll be on you $$$$.
    Those aftermarket brackets to mount the cable generally dont work, they'll work for the 350 kickdown which is what they are basically designed for.

    It's all about the geometry.

    The throttle linkage adapter for the Holley carb will work, part no. 20-121.

    The centreline of the cable has to be 1.125" - 1.095" below the centreline of the throttle shaft.
    At 23 degree of throttle opening the throttle shaft, cable pivot and centreline of cable bracket must form a right angle.

    If you need a diagram I can provide one and dont be surprised if the workshop you take it to has no idea how to set one up.

    If the trans is changing gears below 4500 rpm and doesn't bounce the diff on a gearshift then I wouldn't be driving it anywhere, your trans could have had it's safety feature removed.

  6. #21
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sometimes Melbourne
    Posts
    2,746

    Default

    These factory cables are self adjusting provided the cable is reset and the geometry is correct.

    If you manually change a cable setting on a road test you must have the engine switched off or the setting may not take affect until the next time you turn the engine off.

  7. #22
    casual poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Problem solved and thanks for everyone's help.

    I purchased an aftermarket B&M cable, found a TV bracket that mounts to my holley throttle bracket and set it all up with some help from youtube... Drives well and shifts perfectly (and smoothly).

  8. #23
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sometimes Melbourne
    Posts
    2,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by winx355 View Post
    set it all up with some help from youtube... Drives well and shifts perfectly (and smoothly).
    Your doomed....

    Did you set it up paying attention to the geometry as mentioned previously ?

    It may seem like its driving ok but only a pressure gauge will confirm.

  9. #24
    casual poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    243

    Default

    haha got to love a Youtube hand grenade!!!!

    Yeah set it up properly with all the right geometry and the Holley brackets have the right throw on the arm.

    Its to a point where I can drive it without the gears slamming and taking it to a trans specialist next week to do the final setup which I expect will include a pressure check...

  10. #25
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sometimes Melbourne
    Posts
    2,746

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by winx355 View Post
    Its to a point where I can drive it without the gears slamming and taking it to a trans specialist next week to do the final setup which I expect will include a pressure check...
    Ask them to do a pressure test, the moment the throttle starts to open the pressure must rise immediately.
    If the oil pan comes off for a service then the throttle cam/valve setting can be checked internally and confirmed.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Kickdown cable for turbo 350
    By 355OVB in forum Wanted (cars & items)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-01-2015, 07:30 PM
  2. th350 kickdown cable
    By kane355 in forum Driveline & Suspension
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 07:32 PM
  3. Wanted vn v8 th700 kickdown cable
    By LOOZNU in forum Wanted (cars & items)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 02:35 AM
  4. Hi stall into V8 turbo700 (cable kickdown)???
    By KRUPTOR in forum Driveline & Suspension
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-07-2010, 03:16 PM
  5. Th350 Kickdown Cable
    By brendan_h in forum Wanted (cars & items)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2010, 08:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •