Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40
  1. #1
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,229

    Default Cam dial in opinions.

    Just dialed my new solid roller cam in my 355. Cam guy said he doesn't grind any advance into his cams. Put the timing set in on zero and it dialed perfectly to the cam card specs. I was quite impressed. My old Camtech SFT apparently had 2 degrees advance ground into it. I remember from years back it dialed in exactly 2 degrees advanced when installed on the zero marks. Again I was quite impressed and I was really happy with how the engine performed.
    So my dilemma is should I advance this one 2 degrees as well? I know it can give some longevity regarding chain stretch but I've had a slack very stretched chain before and the cam only retarded by about 1 degree. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Sure why not? 76lxhatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    5,962

    Default

    Unless you've got something specific you want to achieve, I'd normally stick with the timing designed into the cam. Saying there is 2 degrees 'advance' from the card specs just means the machining of one of the timing components isn't perfectly accurate (which is why we bother checking it).

  3. #3
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Nth Qld
    Posts
    1,843

    Default

    hi
    Advancing /retarding cam does not matter where the maker has machined it to . It really depends on what u want for the engine . This also is influenced by vehicle setup and usage .
    eg man/auto , enough convertor stall, diff gears , tyre size , existing cam duration to small/big , street or strip , valve clearance

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    773

    Default

    Comp Cams grinds 4* of advance into their shelf grinds; custom grinds get zero advance.

    Only way to determine how much advance the engine 'likes'.........is to experiment. Crane cams claimed that for the butt-meter to feel a difference, a minimum of 4* should be tried.

  5. #5
    Do you ever leave? immortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,302

    Default

    How much compression does it have? My understanding is that cam grinders grind a bit of advance into their cams to save guys from themselves who select cams that are to big or don't have enough static compression for their chosen cam. Advance the cam to make up for a lack of compression or leave straight up or retard if you more than enough compression.


    You gonna be ready for the Fathers Day drags in mid October?

  6. #6
    been here .......too long Smitty2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    bayside Melbourne
    Posts
    10,044

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GtoGeoff View Post
    Comp Cams grinds 4* of advance into their shelf grinds; custom grinds get zero advance.

    .................
    if you paid a shed load of folding $ to a good cam grinder and NOT told him bulls#*t about your engine
    go with what he puts on the card.

    My experience is that 0° is common.... so that's how I start and make sure the engine is set.
    Once run in and you have dyno numbers.... then maybe then start playing but not before
    (unless of course you know more than your cam provider)
    __________________________________
    ONE OF THE Aussie V8 MODERATOR/ADMIN TEAM

    Never late in an AussieV8!
    Club circuit racing...the best fun you can have with your pants on

  7. #7
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GtoGeoff View Post
    Comp Cams grinds 4* of advance into their shelf grinds; custom grinds get zero advance.

    Only way to determine how much advance the engine 'likes'.........is to experiment. Crane cams claimed that for the butt-meter to feel a difference, a minimum of 4* should be tried.
    No advance ground in on this custom cam. It's 110 lsa installed on a 106 intake centreline. TK specced it and he just said yesterday if the cam card all matches up, let it be at zero.
    Last edited by RedTaxi; 14-09-2021 at 07:52 AM.

  8. #8
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by immortality View Post
    How much compression does it have? My understanding is that cam grinders grind a bit of advance into their cams to save guys from themselves who select cams that are to big or don't have enough static compression for their chosen cam. Advance the cam to make up for a lack of compression or leave straight up or retard if you more than enough compression.


    You gonna be ready for the Fathers Day drags in mid October?
    11.5-1, nope still got some interior, engine to finish, wiring and cert to go yet. Hope to be there for a look though.

  9. #9
    Senior Member JaseQ314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Great South East
    Posts
    576

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedTaxi View Post
    No advance ground in on this custom cam. It's 110 lsa installed on a 106 intake centreline. TK specced it and he just said yesterday if the cam card all matches up, let it be at zero.
    A cam with 110 lobe centres installed on 106 intake centreline is 4 degrees of advance ground into the cam, is it not? Otherwise it would be installed at 110 intake centreline.
    Last edited by JaseQ314; 14-09-2021 at 09:57 AM.

  10. #10
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JaseQ314 View Post
    A cam with 110 lobe centres installed on 106 intake centreline is 4 degrees of advance ground into the cam, is it not? Otherwise it would be installed at 110 intake centreline.
    Yes I think that's right? But I don't speak fluent camshaft haha. But My old Camtech SFT matched up exactly 2 deg adv compared to the card spec. This one matches up perfectly on zero degrees at the card specs. It's staying right there anyway.

  11. #11
    casual poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    350

    Default

    A 110 lobe sep cam on a 106 intake c/l is 4deg advanced

  12. #12
    Do you ever leave? EH179's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ipswich. QLD
    Posts
    4,391

    Default

    Did the cam card mention a "lift @ TDC?"
    A very easy method for dialling in.

  13. #13
    Part of the furniture
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    955

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paul boz View Post
    A 110 lobe sep cam on a 106 intake c/l is 4deg advanced
    Is it though? This gets me every every time. A 110 LSA is fixed. If it was set at Zero advance, why would ICL have to be 110?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EH179 View Post
    Did the cam card mention a "lift @ TDC?"
    A very easy method for dialling in.
    Yes that's how I did it, as you say makes it easy.

  15. #15
    Do you ever leave?
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paul boz View Post
    A 110 lobe sep cam on a 106 intake c/l is 4deg advanced
    Yes that's how I was reading it, eventually, thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Thoughts on Cam/ Dial in.
    By NOHOPE in forum Holden V8's
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 26-02-2019, 08:20 PM
  2. Cam Dial in
    By Duckme in forum Holden V8's
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 31-05-2014, 05:20 PM
  3. dial in cam
    By M.bajjada in forum Holden V8's
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 15-08-2013, 09:02 AM
  4. Another cam dial question.
    By RedTaxi in forum Holden V8's
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-07-2011, 07:27 AM
  5. ok, so what puts a smile on ya dial
    By knute in forum Members Lounge
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 02:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •